Home / Events / New Year Honours for National Grid prominent figures

New Year Honours for National Grid prominent figures

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 LinkedIn 0 Pin It Share 0 StumbleUpon 0 Reddit 0 Email -- Google+ 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×


Amongst the usual celebrities and sporting heroes that regularly make the New Year’s Honours list, this year there were some prominent energy and water industry figures that received awards too.

National Grid’s Executive Director Nick Winser received a CBE for services to the UK energy industry. He said he was ” delighted to have received the CBE, stating that “this not just an honour for me but a wider acknowledgement of the high standards and professionalism everyone at National Grid has shown over many years.”

His colleague Operation Director Chris Train who chairs the Energy Emergencies Executive Committee also won an OBE.

‘Grand Designs’ television presenter Kevin McCloud also made the Honours List for his services to sustainable design and energy saving property refurbishment.

Others that made the list are: Lesley Ann Potts Senior manager at PWC for working on energy efficiency and The Green Deal, and John Doggart who founded the Sustainable Energy Academy which set up ‘Superhomes’ to show how old homes could be made energy efficient.

The water sector also received recognition, with the Chief Executive Officer of NI Water, James Haslett and the Managing Director of Welsh Water Nigel Annett. Mr Annett’s voluntary service to Wateraid was noted.

A total of 1,195 people were recommended to the Queen to receive honours this year, with a higher number of women than men for the first time ever (51%).

Other energy names soon to be followed by a CBE include Richard Warner, Founder of the Reepham Green Team in Norfolk; Phyllis Boardman who founded Green Deal Consortia and Richard Barr, Joint Managing Director of gas turbine manufacturer Centrax.





About Emma

Scroll To Top